Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations

Facebook icon Twitter icon Instagram icon
Education Through School Sport
Find Your Championship Site

Coaching Excellence Awards

Coaching Excellence Award

Presented by the Coaching Association of Ontario.  The selection of recipients (1 Male and 1 Female teacher-coach) is done by the OFSAA Coaching Committee through nominations by member associations.  The selection is based on their unique contribution to sport through continuous development of new coaches. The nominated coach must have influenced the development of new coaches and have shown evidence of program building as well as encouraging athletes to give back to sport. Furthermore the nominated coaches’ coaching style has proven to be ethical, demonstrated sportsmanship and contributed to the “education through school sport" philosophy.

Past Recipients

Male 2012: Francois Belle-Isle (ES Hawksbury) Click HERE to see Francois' video.

Female 2012: Tammy Short (Westmont SS) Click HERE to see Tammy's video.

Male 2011: Bruce Dyce (Port Credit SS) Click HERE to see Bruce's video.

Female 2011: Sheila Siermachesky (Timiskaming District) Click HERE to see Shiela's video.

Male 2010: Mark Sauve (Glengarry DHS)

Female 2010: Jackie Trudeau (London Central SS)

Male 2009: Lorne Smith (North Toronto CI)

Female 2009: Kathy Garvey (St. Peter's CHS)

Male 2008: Mike Russell (Rick Hansen SS)

Female 2008: Deb Shaw (Kenner Collegiate VI)

Male 2006: Tim Larry (East Northumberland)

Female 2006: Sue Pyke (Toronto)

Male 2005: Mike McKittrick (Catholic Central HS)

Female 2005: Lorna Bradley (Bell HS)

Male 2004: Jonathan Boyd (Brampton)

Female 2004: Gisele Pilon (College Notre-Dame)

Male 2003: Barry Mutrie (Chesley DHS)

Female 2003: Val Dunn (ES Cochrane)