Home   /   Recognition   /   Awards


Ontario Coaching Excellence Award


Celebrating Ontario’s Coaches!

Ontario’s highest coaching honour across all sports and levels, celebrates the integral role coaches play with their team(s), sport and community.

15 selected coaches will win a VIP Toronto Blue Jays experience and celebration at the Rogers Centre in September, as we kick-off National Coaches Week 2024! #ThanksCoach

Coaches will also be awarded a $500 prize reimbursement to be used on purchases they make for their team, club or organization, from local Ontario and Canadian businesses, proudly provided by Hydro One Inc.

2024 nominations are NOW OPEN!

Nomination Form can be found here: https://www.coachesontario.ca/events/awards/

Nominations close June 10, 2024.
For any questions contact CAO at [email protected].


Past Recipients

Colin Hood Award

The Colin Hood OFSAA School Sport Award is named after retired OFSAA Executive Director Colin Hood. During his time at OFSAA (1992-2004), Colin set national precedents through his relentless dedication to school sport, developing all-inclusive OFSAA programs, as well as promoting and developing the high school athlete in this province. He is considered a true leader and role model in both the educational and sport sectors.

The Colin Hood Award is given out annually to one graduating male, one graduating female, and one coach in every school in the province who, throughout their high school career, have been committed to the success of school sport at their school and within their Association. Schools have the opportunity to only select from one or two of the categories (female, male, coach) if they so choose.

OFSAA is pleased to make available the Colin Hood/OFSAA School Sport Award. Please take the time to recognize the important student-athletes and coaches that make school sport memorable.

Application deadline is May 31, 2024.

Complete the online application form

Past Recipients

OFSAA Leadership in School Sport Award

The OFSAA Leadership in School Sport Award is presented annually at each OFSAA Championship to a teacher-coach who has made a significant contribution to the educational athletic program. The recipient of this award exemplifies the values of fair play and good sportsmanship, while promoting enjoyment, personal growth and educational achievement through school sport.

Download the nomination form!

Past Recipients


Ministry Service Award

OFSAA began nominating individuals for the Ministry Service Awards in 2000, recognizing those people who have been Association Representatives, members of the Board of Directors, Principals’ Representatives, committee members, and convenors, in addition to involvement in their schools and local associations.

Nominees may be active or retired teacher-coaches, and three men and three women are nominated annually. Recipients are selected by the Executive Council from a list of names put forward by members and staff. The individuals are honored in their local area at a special reception recognizing the contributions of volunteers from many organizations.

Past Recipients


Pete Beach Award

Pete Beach was a former Executive Director of OFSAA whose life was dedicated to sport and helping others, especially young people, achieve their full potential. Under his leadership, OFSAA expanded from 7 Associations to 15 and 300 schools to 580.

These winners exemplify the same dedication, spirit and love of sport that made Pete Beach such a success in both his professional and private life.

Past Recipients