Home   /   Programs   /   CIOS (Coaching In Ontario Schools)   /   Coaching Excellence Awards

Coaching Excellence Awards

Presented by the Coaching Association of Ontario.  The selection of recipients (1 Male and 1 Female teacher-coach) is done by the OFSAA Coaching Committee through nominations by member associations.  The selection is based on their unique contribution to sport through continuous development of new coaches. The nominated coach must have influenced the development of new coaches and have shown evidence of program building as well as encouraging athletes to give back to sport. Furthermore the nominated coaches’ coaching style has proven to be ethical, demonstrated sportsmanship and contributed to the “education through school sport” philosophy.

Past Recipients


Male 2022: Greg White (Jacob Hespeler SS)

Female 2022: Linda Tracey (Loyalist Collegiate & Vocational Institute)


Male 2021: Colin Ward (Lo-Ellen Park SS)

Female 2021: Kelly Gouveia (Fletcher’s Meadow SS)


Male 2020: Mike Stenning  Click HERE to see Mike’s video.

Female 2020: Martha Ashfield  Click HERE to see Martha’s video.


Male 2019: Ron Andrews (Barrie Central Collegiate & Barrie North) Click HERE to see Ron’s video.

Female 2019: Annette Wrigley (St. Marys DCVI) Click HERE to see Annette’s video.


Male 2018: Ian Atkinson (Bluevale Collegiate Institute) Click HERE to see Ian’s video.

Female 2018: Dawn Manerowski  Click HERE to see Dawn’s video.


Male 2017: Denis Gauthier (Lasalle SS) Click HERE to see Denis’ video.

Female 2017: Laurie Baulcomb (Preston HS) Click HERE to see Laurie’s video.


Male 2016: Ken MacDonald (Senator O’Connor College) Click HERE to see Ken’s video.

Female 2016: Jo-Anne Dexter (La Citadelle) Click HERE to see Jo-Anne’s video.


Male 2015: Mark Lewis (Seaway DHS) Click HERE to see Mark’s video.

Female 2015: Darlene Denniss (Parkside CI) Click HERE to see Darlene’s video.


Male 2014: Ken VanderZwaag (Woodland Christian HS) Click HERE to see Ken’s video.

Female 2014: Leslie Lawlor (Sydenham HS) Click HERE to see Leslie’s video.


Male 2013: Francois Belle-Isle (L’Ecole secondaire catholique regionale de Hawkesbury) Click HERE to see Francois’ video.

Female 2013: Tammy Short (West Park SS) Click HERE to see Tammy’s video.


Male 2012: Bruce Dyce (Port Credit SS) Click HERE to see Bruce’s video.

Female 2012: Sheila Siermachesky (Timiskaming DSS) Click HERE to see Shiela’s video.


Male 2010: Mark Sauve (Glengarry DHS)

Female 2010: Jackie Trudeau (London Central SS)


Male 2009: Lorne Smith (North Toronto CI)

Female 2009: Kathy Garvey (St. Peter’s CHS)


Male 2008: Mike Russell (Rick Hansen SS)

Female 2008: Deb Shaw (Kenner Collegiate VI)


Male 2006: Tim Larry (East Northumberland)

Female 2006: Sue Pyke (Toronto)


Male 2005: Mike McKittrick (Catholic Central HS)

Female 2005: Lorna Bradley (Bell HS)


Male 2004: Jonathan Boyd (Brampton)

Female 2004: Gisele Pilon (College Notre-Dame)


Male 2003: Barry Mutrie (Chesley DHS)

Female 2003: Val Dunn (ES Cochrane)